KidneyWales Cardiff 10K: road closures on 6 September
The KidneyWales Cardiff 10K will take place in Cardiff city centre on Sunday 6 September 2026, with thousands of runners expected and road closures planned to facilitate the event.
The confirmed audience is runners, although the closures also matter to residents and visitors intending to travel through the city centre that Sunday. Cardiff Council Newsroom has not provided a start time, price, booking or entry arrangements, so prospective participants will need further information before finalising their plans.
When and where the Cardiff 10K takes place
- Event: KidneyWales Cardiff 10K
- Date: Sunday 6 September 2026
- Venue: Cardiff city centre
- Audience: Runners
- Expected scale: Thousands of runners
- Cost and booking: Not stated in the council notice
- Traffic arrangements: Road closures will be in place to facilitate the event
The council published the closure warning as part of its 1 September roundup of recent Cardiff news. That gives people intending to be in the centre advance notice of the event, but the source does not include a detailed race programme or identify particular streets affected by the restrictions.
Why the event will affect city-centre journeys
The expected number of participants is the clearest available indication of the event’s scale. With thousands of runners due to take part, the closure notice is relevant not only to entrants but also to anyone whose Sunday plans involve crossing or reaching Cardiff city centre.
The confirmed practical implication is that normal road access should not be assumed while the event and associated closures are in progress. However, the council notice does not specify when restrictions will begin or end, and it does not establish whether any particular journey will be affected.

Readers looking for additional planning context can consult the Cardiff 10K closure guide.
Details still needed before 6 September
The available source should be treated as an early road-closure warning rather than a complete event or traffic timetable. It does not list the race route, affected street names, public transport arrangements, accessibility provision, a venue address within the city centre or entry details.
Those omissions mean runners cannot use the council notice alone to determine where or when they should arrive, whether advance booking is required or what participation costs. Similarly, residents and visitors cannot yet identify the precise roads involved from this notice.
For now, the source-backed next step is to account for city-centre road closures when planning travel on Sunday 6 September and to check for detailed event or traffic information before setting out.
Source: Cardiff Council Newsroom
Context & actions About this article
Source check Source trail
The event details and travel warning were checked against the supplied council newsroom source, with missing logistics left unfilled.
- Matched the event name and 6 September date to the source notice.
- Confirmed Cardiff city centre as the event location.
- Retained the source statement that thousands of runners are expected and road closures wil...
- Marked the start time, price, booking arrangements and detailed closure information as una...
- Source
- Cardiff Council Newsroom
- Scope
- Cardiff
- Updated
- 2026-09-01 12:34
Source check
Report a trust issue
Send a clear signal to community moderation if the source, facts or context need review.
Comments