Southend-on-Sea drivers gain a new charging option
Electric vehicle drivers can now use the replacement charging points at Alexandra Street Car Park in Southend-on-Sea. The equipment was confirmed operational on 11 August 2026 and is managed by Zest, which has replaced the previous Blink charging infrastructure.
Southend-on-Sea City Council describes the installation as the latest part of a wider programme to improve access to public EV charging across the city.
Reported by the demoduck.co.uk editorial team from a Southend-on-Sea City Council notice published on 11 August 2026.
Charging at Alexandra Street Car Park is live
| Detail | Confirmed information |
|---|---|
| Location | Alexandra Street Car Park, Southend-on-Sea |
| Availability | Operational from 11 August 2026 |
| Current operator | Zest |
| Previous provider | Blink |
| Wider public funding | £1.4 million from the Government’s Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Fund |
Drivers can use the new charging points now. However, the council’s announcement does not specify the number of chargers, their charging speeds, connector types, tariffs or payment arrangements.

Anyone who needs those details before travelling should consult the council’s Electric Vehicles information or contact its EV Solutions Team. The notice does not state whether an existing Blink account or app has any role at the replacement chargers, so drivers should follow the instructions displayed at the site.
Zest replaces the previous Blink equipment
The change concerns the charging infrastructure at the car park rather than the location itself. Zest now operates the replacement equipment, while Blink provided the former chargers.
The council says the switch is intended to provide more reliable public charging as electric vehicle use grows. No closure period or further work at Alexandra Street Car Park was identified in the announcement.

£1.4 million programme reaches across Southend
The Alexandra Street installation forms part of Southend’s Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure programme. It is backed by £1.4 million from the Government’s LEVI Fund alongside what the council calls a significant investment from Zest.
According to the council, the investment comes at no cost to the authority and contributes to one of the UK’s largest local EV charging schemes. Other councils are pursuing comparable infrastructure projects, including new public EV chargers at Stoke-on-Trent car parks.
The council has not published the next Southend installation location or rollout date in this announcement.
Source: Southend-on-Sea City Council
Context & actions About this article
Source check Source trail
This report is based on the council's published service update and distinguishes confirmed details from information not included in the notice.
- Confirmed that the Alexandra Street Car Park chargers were reported live on 11 August 2026...
- Confirmed that Zest replaced the previous Blink charging infrastructure.
- Checked the stated £1.4 million contribution from the Government's LEVI Fund.
- Identified that charger numbers, speeds, tariffs and payment methods were not specified.
- Source
- Southend-on-Sea City Council
- Scope
- Southend-on-Sea
- Updated
- 2026-08-11 18:43
Source check
Report a trust issue
Send a clear signal to community moderation if the source, facts or context need review.
Comments